The School of Social Service Administration has designed programs of study with several of the schools comprising The Hyde Park Cluster of Theological Schools. These programs enable students who are interested in developing dual competence in social work and ministry to earn both the A.M. and M.Div. degrees in one academic year less than if they completed both degree programs consecutively. Course requirements for the A.M. component of the program include core and concentration courses for a total of 13 SSA courses.

Applicants to these dual degree programs must meet the entrance requirements and follow the application procedures of both the School of Social Service Administration and the specific theological school to which they wish to apply. The theological schools with which SSA has dual A.M./M.Div. degree programs are the following:

Chicago Theological Seminary 
1407 E. 60th Street
Chicago, Illinois 60637

Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
1100 East 55th Street 
Chicago, Illinois 60615

McCormick Theological Seminary 
5460 S. University
Chicago, Illinois 60637

Meadville/Lombard Theological Seminary
5701 South Woodlawn Avenue 
Chicago, Illinois 60637

Catholic Theological Union
5401 South Cornell 
Chicago, Illinois 60615

Bria Berger

Bria Berger, AM '14

“It’s important to have transferable skills and to have a professional mentor. Working with [Assistant Professor] Alida Bouris has helped me both personally and professionally. She has encouraged me to mold my course schedule and placement to my interest and goals, to take risks, and she has helped me shape my vision of who I am in the social work world.”