Eve L. Ewing to receive the 2019 O.L. Davis Jr. Outstanding Book Award

Release Date: 
Thursday, August 8, 2019

The information in this press release is from the American Association for Teaching and Curriculum (AATC):

(Left) Book cover for "Ghosts in the Schoolyard" and (right) author and Assistant Professor Eve L. EwingOn behalf of the American Association for Teaching and Curriculum (AATC), we are pleased to announce Ghosts in the Schoolyard: Racism and School Closings on Chicago's South Side by Eve L. Ewing is the winner of the 2019 O.L. Davis Jr. Outstanding Book Award. Ewing describes the history of segregated schools in Chicago and the way school buildings were later usurped by the charter industry. The story of Dyett High School is particularly interesting for both its history, the story of its namesake, and the attempts to dispossess it from the community. This is an excellent book that discusses policy and makes clear that it is doing so by mentioning policy specifically. In the words of one of the committee members,


Great text! The story and connections created by Eve Ewing bring the liaise faire racism into full view. The emphasis on community in school policy decisions – or lack of focus – shifts focus within our current system. Seeing policy and policy making as a curriculum process place this text as a significant contribution.

Ewing's book was selected among 18 of nominations, including 4 other finalists:

  • It's Not about Grit: Trauma, Inequity, and the Power of Transformative Teaching by Steven Goodman (Teachers College Press)
  • The Testing Charade: Pretending to Make Schools Better by Daniel Kortez (The University of Chicago Press)
  • Unschooling Critical Pedagogy, Unfixing Schools by John Petrovic (Peter Lang)
  • What works may hurt: Side effects in education by Yong Zhao (Teachers College Press)

Ewing will accept her award at the American AATC Annual Conference, which will be held in Birmingham, AL, October 3rd-5th. More information about AATC, including the aforementioned Annual Conference, can be found at: http://aatchome.org

Congratulations, Eve L. Ewing, the University of Chicago, and The University of Chicago Press.

Media Contact for the AATC:

Daniel R. Conn, Ed.D.
Associate Professor
American Association for Teaching and Curriculum
O.L. Davis Jr. Outstanding Book Award Committee

Faculty Association: 
Eve L. Ewing