Sydney Hans is Named a Fellow to the AASWSW

Release Date: 
Thursday, October 4, 2018

Sydney HansThe American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare has selected 21 new Fellows for their accomplishments as scholars and practitioners for achievement and advancement of social good in the field of social work. Sydney Hans, SSA’s Frank P. Hixon Distinguished Service Professor and the Deputy Dean for Research and Faculty Development, was named as a fellow of the Class of 2019.

Newly elected Fellows will be inducted into the Academy during a ceremony on Jan. 18, 2019, at the Society for Social Work and Research’s annual conference in San Francisco.

“I am delighted to be adding this group to the Academy. It will broaden our expertise for future activities,” said AASWSW President Sarah Gehlert, Dean of the University of South Carolina’s College of Social Work.

Election of Fellows into the Academy is by confidential nomination and confirmation by a super majority of Academy members. Established in 2010, the AASWSW’s mission is to encourage, recognize and celebrate outstanding research, scholarship, and practice that contribute to a sustainable and equitable future. It also aims to influence social policy by serving as a source of information for the social work profession as well as Congress and other governmental and non-government entities.

Currently in its eighth year, the AASWSW comprises 129 Fellows from over 38 universities and is headquartered at the University of South Carolina’s College of Social Work.

Faculty Association: 
Sydney Hans